Using msi to create and maintain SQL databases

Jan 14, 2011 at 11:23 AM

As a SQL database administrator, I am currently experimenting with the possibility to use Wix for database creation and maintenance.

As I am pretty new to creating msi's in general and Wix in specific, any help would be highly appreciated. I am specifically interested in how to deal with the following aspects.

• New release and upgrades. I typically handle database versions through extended properties on database level. Using this, I guess I should be able to have an msi detect what version a database is, and based upon that version, execute one or multiple scripts to upgrade the database to the last version.
  • Using a single msi to create multiple databases. Is it possible to use an msi to create e.g. a second database instead of having it jump into maintenance mode?
  • Creating a combo containing the databases available on the selected server instance.

Any help on any of the above topics is highly appreciated.

Coordinator
Jan 14, 2011 at 11:55 AM

I had shared some thoughts on deploying databases here.

Our most recent projects that deploy databases keep a schema version table in the database. Every time someone needs to change the schema, they write a new sql_upgrade_<new_version>.sql file. We wrote a simple stored procedure that looks at which version the database is, takes a parameter for the latest upgrade script number available and spits out a .sql script that lists which SQL upgrade scripts to execute via a :r SQL inclusion command. Then the installer executes the generated script. We do this since version 0, so a clean database setup is running upgrade 0 through latest. This way the MSI doesn't really do anything that you can't do without an MSI. Unfortunately I don't have a full working installer to share, but that's something we'd like to contribute back to msiext soon - or maybe someone can (re)develop it based on a demo (it's really not that complicated).